Saturday, December 31, 2011

Jack K Fiction Award

The winner of the Jack K Fiction Award 2011 is DIVERGENT BY VERONICA ROTH!

Congratulations to all of the nominees.

Sunday, December 4, 2011

The Odyssey

I finally finished reading the Odyssey today. It's been a while.
I figured that I wouldn't like it because of my reading a classic, but I found it actually sort of enjoyable. it's not the best but it was pretty good.

***

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Alice in Wonderland

Sorry that it has been a while since I've last posted but I haven't had that much time. I recently finished reading Alice and Wonderland, though, and I thought that it wouldn't be that great, but I was wrong. Usually I'm not a fan of the classics that everyone reads, but every once in a while there is one that is really good. This is one of them. It doesn't seem like the kind of book that I would like, really, but when I started reading it, I really got into it and I enjoyed it! Until the end... There's something about the end that makes me feel like Carrol was just stuck for an ending so he made one up on the spot, but other than that, I love the insanity and the strangeness of it! ****

Friday, August 12, 2011

The Dead


I recently finished reading The Dead by Charlie Higson. The sequel to The Enemy, this takes place in London a month after the disease started. It follows a group of boys at their school, eventually heading into London. They meet new people and learn new things about the disease, giving us, the reader, a lot more information, making everything a lot clearer.
I found this book a lot better than the first one. I liked that we learn a bit about how the disease works, and there are things that connect with the first book.
The first book was enjoyable, but this book really drew me into the series. I think that this will be a new favorite.


My Rating:
★★★★★

Monday, July 25, 2011

People of Darkness


Quick Summary: People of Darkness is about Sergeant Jim Chee who is tasked with finding out what is the cause behind a box of stolen rocks, strange murders, and a bombing. At the same time, he fears for his life.

My review: In this mystery I found myself at first extremely bored. If there is one point in a book where you should not have a reader bored, it is at the beginning, because that is right when a reader is possibly wanting to buy it, and they may easily go spend their money somewhere else. But then it picked up a bit. I still didn't like it as much, but it wasn't exactly my kind of book. The characters were kind of annoying and there were times where I was left very confused, and never did fully understand what happened. I felt that there was a bit of trouble the author had explaining everything. I did find it interesting that it was also following one of the antagonists throughout the book. I liked knowing part of what is happening, but there was enough left out that I was still "surprised" at the end, even though parts of it were predictable. Anyway, it did get a bit better and I enjoyed it at times, though it was not my favorite read.

My review:
***

Thursday, July 14, 2011

The Enemy


Brief Summary: The Enemy is a book set in future London where all people over the age of 16 have turned into zombie-like creatures that have a craving for the children. It follows a group of kids and their struggle to find safety.

Quick Review: I have said this before, I think, but the first thing that comes to mind with this is that I like it but at times it sounds forced. Like they had to write this and didn't enjoy it. I don't know why but sometimes this just really bothers me, maybe because I know the feeling. Overall, though, I enjoyed it!

My rating:
****

Monday, June 6, 2011

The Warlock


Quick Summary: The Warlock is the fifth book in the series by Michael Scott and we find Sophie and Josh divided. According to the prophecy, one will save the world, and one will destroy it, but which one is which? Josh is with Dr. John Dee, a man who used to be his enemy, and Virginia Dare in San Francisco. Scathach, Palamedes, Shakespeare and Joan of Arc and her husband are trapped in the past on Danu Talis with death. Sophie is with the Alchemist and his wife, but Nicholas is very close to death, and Perry is right behind him. There is too little time left before the world, undoubtedly, ends.

My review: I, like all other books in this series, very much enjoyed it. It left me confused but I do like being confused and having everything straighten out in the end, it makes me think about it. It is so complex and I feel the need to research every character. I love this series!

My rating:
*****



This book is nominated for the Jack K Fiction Award for 2011!

Wednesday, May 25, 2011

Blood Red Road


Quick Synopsis: Blood Red Road is the story of Saba by Silverlake who has lived her entire life by a small lake with her father, sister, and twin brother, Lugh. Then the storm hits. Then a few men come by and take Lugh and Saba has to find her brother and travel through strange lands before it's too late.

My Review: I really enjoyed this book. There was a little bit of everything in it. Excitement, romance, anger, hatred, sadness...whatever you can think of, that's what this book has. At first I was a bit skeptical because the author writes with the accent pronunciations and also because there are no quotations, but I soon got over that fact and continued on with an unforgettable book.

My Rating:
*****



(This book is nominated for the Jack K Fiction Award for 2011)

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Of Mice and Men


Quick summary: The classic novella by John Steinbeck, basically about mice and men, as the title indicates. It tells about Lennie and George, two friends who are trying to earn enough money to buy their own farm.

My review: I actually liked this book. It wasn't my favorite, but I really did enjoy reading it. It had a good pace and didn't contain long boring scenes. It was short and to the point and I liked the concept of it.

My rating:
***1/2

Thursday, May 5, 2011

All Quiet On The Western Front


The greatest war story of all time as it is called, really did not live to its standard with me. Yes, I am not usually a fan of these types of books but really there were times that I found it painful to read. I had to force myself to turn the page. As I neared the end, I was dying to finish it, trying to stop myself from screaming out in agony. That's just my opinion. I admit I probably am a little biased against this but still, I would at least like it a little bit even with the bias thrown in. Oh well, you can't love every book.

Quick Synopsis: This book is about Paul Bäumer, who is a German soldier in World War 1. It is about his life in the war and the friends that he has made. It is filled with graphic description and a few gruesome scenes--though I did not find them as gruesome as they were said to be. It makes Paul, after seeing all of the violence and evil, think why there is war if it can be this horrible?

My Review: Okay, as I have already stated, I did not like this book. First of all, it is a story about history. Historical Fiction. I think it should be a rule that historical fiction should be written in past-tense, not present tense. It is not happening at this moment. At the end I found like the author was trying too hard to fit everything into the second-to-last chapter. Oh well, still I am so biased so I have to give a little bit more credit than I would.

My rating:
*1/2

Saturday, April 9, 2011

I Am The Messenger


Brief Summary: In the next critically-acclaimed novel by Markus Zusak, Ed Kennedy, an average underage cabdriver in Australia stops a bank robbery. The next thing that he knows is that he is getting strange cards in the mail, each one leading to a different place, each one with an important message for him to give. As he starts to become more than just an average person, he wonders who is actually behind the strange cards.

My Review: I liked this book. It wasn't as good as The Book Thief, but it was still very good. I liked it. There were a parts that were a little too much, and a few parts that were a little cheesy and predictable, but, really, I found this book fun and interesting. It was sad and funny and strange at the same time. Well done.

My Rating:
****

Monday, March 14, 2011

The Marbury Lens



Synopsis: Jack Whitmore gets abducted one night, and narrowly escapes before travelling for two weeks in England, but while he's there the traumatic events that he experienced start to make him go crazy. Strange things begin happening and when he starts going to a strange world called Marbury after a stranger gives him glasses, he knows he can't stop.

Brief Summary: I have mixed feelings about this book. I thought at first that it would be scary, because that's what it says, this is a scary story. No. It's not that. I admit, there were a few disgusting and disturbing scenes that stayed with me, but nothing really that made me paranoid like over scary things sometimes do. I liked the story and the concept and I found myself drawn to the book many times, but there were times where I just had to think, I need to stop reading this for a little bit. Anyway, I felt a strange attachment to the characters and felt so sorry for them at times and, at times, worried them. Certainly an adult book, I really liked it.

My Rating:
****1/2

Friday, March 4, 2011

Trapped


Brief Summary: This book is about Scotty Weems who, during a large snow storm, gets trapped in his school with six other people. At first it seems like something that will last one night, but the snow does not stop after that, nor the next day. The snow just keeps falling and, with the power, the heat, and the pipes not working, any moment could be your death.

My Review: I really did enjoy this book. At first, I thought that I wasn't because of the "teenager point-of-view" with bad grammar and fragments (a very bothersome thing I come across when reading) but once I started reading, I found it interesting and I kept getting more and more drawn into the book. I think that it was a good read.

My Rating:
****




This book is a candidate for the Jack K Fiction Award

Saturday, February 26, 2011

Best Foot Forward


Review: Best Foot Forward, one of those corny novels about some girl dealing with normal, real life issues. Ya, that's basically what it is, but it so much better than that. I usually do not like these books but this time, I did. It's kind of surprising. I mean, I never really despise any of these kinds of books, but I dont usually like them as much as I liked this one.

Quick Summary: It is the story of Jenna Boller who works in a shoe store. Everything seems normal until there is almost a robbery at the store, then Tanner Cobb comes to work there. From that point on everything changes, and she learns that everyone deserves a second chance.

My Rating:
***

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

I Am Number Four


So I read the jacket cover of the book. I immediately think the cliché alien-human romance thing. Girl meets alien. Alien trying to be normal and doesn't tell her. She finds out. Big dramatic confrontation scene. Somehow learn to live in harmony. I was wrong. I am not usually in to that alien world thing. Maybe a different planet, but powers just go way over the top. This was so much different though. It contained action, romance, and fear. It was one amazing written book and I congratulate the author.

Brief summary: "Four" has lived his entire life on the run. He has moved around more times than he can count, and he has had many identities. His first and largest move, though, was from the planet Lorien, about a year of space travel away from Earth, and since then he has been chased by the Mogadorians, who are killing the nine children that came to Earth in a certain order. The first three were killed. He is number four.

My review: I loved it. It was amazing, as I have already stated. It contained all of the components of a great story and then some. It also just left enough information out so that you can be eager for the next book to come out. I applaud Pittacus Lore.

My rating:
*****
(Highest)

Sunday, February 6, 2011

Scorpia


Quick Summary: Scorpia, the fifth book in the Alex Rider series, continues to follow the protagonist and his life as a teenage spy in England. This time, though, he's being recruited by the other side, Scorpia. In this breathtaking novel, Alex deals with deception, death, and his own past, which he is slowly able to piece together.

My Review: Overall, I thought that this was a very good book. I found it fun, exciting, and at many times, hard to put down. With many twists and surprises, you find yourself entwined in the life of Alex Rider so far down, that you can't get out unless you read the other books in the series. I am confident that I will work on reading the other books as soon as possible.

My Rating:
****

Friday, January 28, 2011

Subject Seven


Brief Summary: Subject Seven follows along multiple characters such as Subject Seven, Hunter Harrison, and many more. All of them are leading normal lives, but there is one thing that connects all of them, and Subject Seven holds that secret. What is Subject Seven? Well, years ago scientists developed a military weapon: sleeper assassins that are almost like Jeckly and Hyde with regular teenagers.
Subject Seven is there leader, and he has a plan that requires all of their help.


My review: I enjoyed reading Subject Seven very much. There were a few graphic scenes and lots of swearing, so it is not for young readers, but besides that, it was an amazing book and I cannot wait for the sequel. For Moore's first Young Adult book, I say that it was a success.

My rating:
*****




***This book may win the Jack K Fiction Award 2011***

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

The Hollow


The Hollow by Agatha Christie is a murder mystery with a romantic twist. Yet another one of Christie's classic crime fictions, I found it a page turned, exciting, and, at the end, surprising. While I like And Then There Were None better, I still found this book great and a good read.
****

Sunday, January 2, 2011

The Hiding Place


This book is the true story of Corrie ten Boom, a middle-aged woman who took in Jews during World War 2 and the punishment that came from it, her persistance in standing up for what is right, and, sadly, tragedy.
Although it was long and at some times hard to read, I found this book incredibly enjoyable and I really liked it. It was inspiring and amazing what she and her family went through.
****

Saturday, January 1, 2011

2010 Winner



The winner of the coveted Jack K fiction award is Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
Congratulations
We'll see you next year