Sunday, November 21, 2010

Curtain


In the final story of the well-known Belgian detective, Curtain brings Hercule Poirot and his friend Captain Arthur Hastings to the place of there first mystery, Styles. Although it has been a long time since the murder, it still lingers in the air, and Poirot knows that homicide will happen soon.

Although starting out with a slow beginning, it soon picks up. Most of the novel I found myself eagerly waiting for the murder or trying to prove my beliefs, beliefs that were proven to be wrong, correct. Christie makes you consider every possibility before revealing the identity of "X".

****

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Divergent


In Veronica Roth's first novel, Divergent is one that won't be soon forgotten. It is about Tris Prior living in a divided city, but there is something special about her. Will being a divergent put her in danger or can she live the rest of her life in peace?

Divergent is really one of the best books that I have ever read. I would compare it to Suzanne Collins's Hunger Games. It's that good. I found myself dying to read it, and when I did, my heart would be pounding and I would be gasping every few pages, pages that I could not stop turning. I am sure that we will see more from Veronica Roth.

Divergent comes out May 2011.

My rating: *****

Nomination for 2011 Jackpk Fiction Award

Sunday, November 14, 2010

The Pearl

The Pearl. Ah, the famous classic. It is about Kino, a pearl fisher, who finds a giant pearl, but the corrupt evil of the sales brings danger to not only him, but his family.

The beginning of this book boring but very interesting, it's kind of funny because at the end, when it was more exciting, I didn't like it.


**

Saturday, November 13, 2010

Sabotaged

Sabotaged is the third book in The Missing series. In this book Jonah and Katherine and Andrea go back in time to when Virginia Dare is around, but they have been sabotaged by a strange man, Second.

I really didn't think that this book was as good as the other two. It was okay, but not the best.

**1/2

This book is in the running for the Jack K fiction award

Sunday, October 24, 2010

Code Orange

Once again for school we read a book that I have read. Code Orange is about a boy named Mitty Blake who finds smallpox scabs and do to hypochondria, believes he is infected with the extinct disease.
This book is really interesting. As a writer myself I knew how the book was going to end but I was wondering how Caroline B. Cooney would write it. She did a great job. I found it fascinating and a little scary.

****

Sunday, October 10, 2010

Flour Babies

This book is about Simon Martin and his class who have to do a Science Project where they are supposed to carry around flour babies as if they are real. I thought that this book was boring and pointless. Yes, he carries around a flour baby and learns what it's like to be a parent. That is way overdone, well, this book may have come out before the shows where they do the same plot but still, overdone.

**

Friday, October 1, 2010

And Then There Were None

First there were ten...and then there were none. IN Agatha Christie's mystery ten people are sent to Indian Island and one of them is a murderer? Who is it and who will be the next victim?

I thought this book was exciting, creepy, and mysteriou. I don't usually like mystery but I have been inspired.


*****

Thursday, September 30, 2010

Mockingjay

Well, let me tell you that this is one of my favorite books that I have ever read. Read it. Read the series. Suzanne Collins is a genius.

*****


This book is a nominee of the Jackpk fiction award

The Book Thief

Markus Zusak is an amazing author in The Book Thief where Liesel Meminger is living in Nazi Germeny and Death tells her story. It is sad and funny and a great read and one of my favorite books.
*****

The Missing Series

This is a great series. Margaret Peterson Haddix is an amazing author.
Found:
Amazing Amazing Amazing
****
Sent:
Good, not as good as it's prequel but still an excellent read.
***

The Necromancer

Michael Scott just keeps getting better and better in this next book in The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series. The Necromancer is about Dr. John Dee needing a Necromancer to raise one of the most powerful beings in his quest to conquer earth and by tricking Josh, he has one. It was definately the best book of the series so far and I can't wait for the next one.
*****


this book is a nominee

Monday, June 28, 2010

Kingdom Keepers 3: Disney in Shadow

The third book in the Kingdom keepers series is not the he's one, buy it is stil pretty good. Wayne is missing and of course Finn and the others have to save him. Then of course there is the parents and Malificent in the way. At times I felt that the author was trying to pack so much information into one paragraph that it just seemed forced and couldn't flow as well as it could. Then I felt that there were parts that weren't realistic...yes I know it was fiction but it seemed the parents and the kids weren't real enough. Oh well, besides that it was pretty good.

**1/2

This book is a nominee

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Lyddie

Another book taking place at the time of slavery, another story talking about how hard life used to be in the 1800s. This book was okay, but I hadbto read it for school which means that I don't like It as much as I regularly would. This was actually pretty good. The author describes how hard it was back then and shows her learning to read and struggling with her friends leaving. Okay but not the best.

***

Saturday, April 24, 2010

Catching Fire

Katniss Everdeen has won the Hunger Games and now is blamed for an uprising. She has just a little time to put out the flame before it..."CATCHES FIRE."
There is an incredible twist at the middle that kept me reading and I just couldn't wait to finish it. The only thing is the third book won't come out until August. I really think that this is a good book and you should read it, but start with THE HUNGER GAMES.

*****

Steel Trapp: The Academy

Wow, this is a really good book. I liked it a lot.

In this sequel, Steel goes to a school with his friend Kaileigh and there are very strange things happening there. Spies? Steel finds himself locked in an exciting adventure that will keep you reading.

Ridley Pearson is such a great author and I am very happy the way this book turned out. Just warning you, read the first one before the second, just as you always should do. I read the first one a long time ago and forgot some of it so there were parts that were a little confusing.

****

This book is a nominee

Saturday, April 10, 2010

To Kill a Mockingbird

This is my new favorite book. I liked it so much. I thought that I wouldn't like it at all, but I was so surprised. It is the best book ever written in my opinion and everyone should read it. If you are reading it in class chances are you won't like it as much so read ahead because if you read as a class books tend to be not as good. Well, this no doubt is going to have five stars. The characters are great and the plot is amazing.
*****

Tuesday, April 6, 2010

2009 winner

THE SORCERESS BY MICHAEL SCOTT!

Tom Sawyer

http://jackpk.wordpress.com/2010/02/05/january-books/

Stand Tall

http://jackpk.wordpress.com/2010/02/05/january-books/

The Hunger Games

This is a great book! I loved it. It is one of my favorites and they are making a movie!


*****


100/10

The Man from the other Side

http://jackpk.wordpress.com/2010/03/09/102-february-posts/

Count Karlstein

****

I LOVE THIS BOOK! I found the first chapter a little boring but it was so much better after a while. This is a great book so read it.

When Zachary Beaver Came to Town

**

I really didn't see the plot in this story. I found it boring and from the first sentence I was bored.

Saturday, January 9, 2010

2009 winner

I am going to have to say that the winner is
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
The Sorceress by Michael Scott!

Congratulations.
See you next year