Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Te night tourist

Good book about ghosts and underworlds five star
crispin by avi three star
jeckyll Hyde good four star

Monday, November 23, 2009

The Judge's House by Bram Stroker

This book is actually not scary, considering it is a horror book. It was very short and easy to read, but not scary. 
It was about a man who lives in the Judge's house and has all these rats sent to him. 
Her is my review: **1/2

Sunday, November 15, 2009

The Lost Chronicles of Earth Revelations by Eric Chacon

Overall this book was pretty good. It was exciting...but long. The beginning seemed to take forever, but once you pass page 100 or 150 then it is so exciting!
I warn you, it is kind of like one of those 2012 movies, except in 2065. But I remind you...IT IS JUST FICTION! It's not like you could really wave a wand and cast spells or go back in time such as in other fiction books. It's fiction.

***1/2

THIS BOOK COULD WIN THE JACK K FICTION AWARD!!!
jackpk.wordpress.com

Thursday, November 5, 2009

Brady by Jean Fritz

This book was about Brady, a boy who discovers the secret of the underground railroad.
I think this book was pretty good. I would reccomend it.

****

Thursday, October 8, 2009

ENDYMION SPRING by Matthew Skelton

This book is about a boy who finds a strange book that only he can read...but there are people trying to take it from him.

I think this is a good book, overall. It was creative and exciting. The end got a little boring when they were talking about Endymion Spring (the person.) Other than that, bravo!


****

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

This was a book about Bod Owens, a boy being raised in a graveyard.
This book jumps around a couple years each chapter, so that took a few chapters to figure out. Second, this book was strange with commas. Another thing that bugged me was in one chapter he's just naming things like: the 33rd President of the United States or The Emperor of China. Meaningless things. They should be names, sometimes that bugs me.
At the end, I might add, the book got so much better. It was sad, and exciting, all at the same time! That is something not many writers can do.

***

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Across Five Aprils by Irene Hunt

This book is about Jethro Creighton who is a boy at the time of the Civil War. It's pretty self-explanitory.

At the beginning of the book I found it somewhat interesting, then when there are about two years left in the book, it's just paragraphs of what's happening. I found the end very boring. Before that I found it interesting. It was a little less that Marooned (***) but more than Hatchet (*) so I had to go with this:

**

It is the first two-starred book I have given-mostly because if I don't like the book sometimes I can't finish it-it was good up until the end, with an interesting twist in the beginning.

Monday, August 31, 2009

Tentacles by Roland Smith

This is the sequel to Cryptid Hunters (*****) and a very good sequel at that. The story begins with Marty's friend Luther coming to the island to join them on their search for the Kraken or Architeuthis. But there are unwanted guests on board (besides the ghosts) and you don't know who they could be.
This is a really good book. I didn't want to put it down. It was that good. Both books got me interested in Cryptozoology. It is just a good book.
The things I would recommend changing if I was Roland Smith. Marty and Luther frequently say "Nose picker." To each other almost as much as "Duh du jour." It gets pretty annoying.
Also, Blackwood really shouldn't have custody over Grace. She belongs to her dad. That needs explaining. The good thing is that that is not enough to lower one star so it's fine.

*****

This book could win the Jack K Fiction Award for 2009!

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Marooned-The Strange but True Adventures of Alexander Selkirk, The Real Robinson Crusoe by Robert Krase

Normally I am not a fan of nonfiction, but this book was surprisingly good. It is about Alexander Selkirk being marooned on Juan Fernando Island. His story is what Robinson Crusoe is based off of. There is no dialogue so it is hard to get through it, but it's one of those books you can't put down. I was surprised by how much I liked it.
The beginning, when he's on the island is great, then all of the sudden the story revolves around someone else. Then he's depressed and I didn't like it as much, that brings it down a star or two.
Other then that, its a great book, you can picture him on the island, waiting for the Cinque Ports to return.

***

Wednesday, August 19, 2009

The Sorceress by Michael Scott

The third book from the series, Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, shows more of Perenelle Flamel, as she is trapped on Alcatraz with monsters, the Crow Goddess, and the power-draining Sphinx, meanwhile Nicholas, Josh, and Sophie are in England, Dee's land.

This book is in my opinion the best in the series, the charactures are wonderful and the story is amazing. Michel Scott is a genius.

*****

This book is a candidate for the Jack K Fiction 2009 Award

Friday, July 24, 2009

Jack K Award 2008


The Jack K Award is given to the best Fictional book of the year. This goes for Fiction, Historical Fiction, Realistic Fiction, anything.
And the 2008 winner is...

INKDEATH by Cornelia Funke

Among the Betrayed by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Among the Betrayed is about Nina, who is captured by the Population Police and asked to do a hard job.

I like when Luke is in it better, frankly, Nina is not as likable in my opinion. It is still a good book and you feel for the charactures, especially, Alia.
****

Among the Barons (sequal)
*****

Among the Barons by Margaret Peterson Haddix

This is a great book about Luke Gardner, an illegal third child, who is living at Hendricks School For Boys who is visited by his fake identity's brother.
It is a great book, it is very exciting and fun, almost as good as the first.

Thursday, June 18, 2009

Among the Impostors by Margaret Peterson Haddix

This book is about Luke Gardner living as Lee Grant, a legal child who had died, and is at the Hendricks school for boys. But there are impostors among him.

I thought this book was great. It wasn't as good as the first one but it was good. The twists are unexpected and that's just what I like. This book is an great second book.

TIP: Do NOT read the preview for the next book. It is the last chapter. I don't know why. It gave many things away.


****
1/2

Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix

This book is about Luke Gardner, a third child in a place where you can only have three childrens. He is illegal. He lives in hiding most of his life until he sees a face in a window at a neighbor's house. He knows it must be a third child. Will he risk everything to meet someone else?

I thought this book was a great start to the series. It had a very good pace to it and was written perfectly. I loved this book.


*****

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

If Your Reading This It's Too Late by Pseudonymous Bosch

This book is about Cass and Max-Ernest on a mission to find the strange creature that is 500 years old before the Midnight Sun (on the quest to find the Secret.)

I liked this book. It was better than the first one. The charactures and plot was amazing. The author is hilarious with everything he writes. Still, he threw it away at the end. (Who doesn't) but he could make it better. I liked the ending better than the first one this time but it was very sad. The strange creature is funny and great. It is just a great book.


****1/2

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

The Door in the Wall by Marguerite de Angeli

This book is about a crippled boy who finds his godfather. He wants to become a night.
I found this book boring at most places but the book makes a good point. Anyone can do anything. The pictures were good, also.

***

Monday, May 18, 2009

The Sign of the Beaver by Elisabeth George Speare

This was also a really good book. It is about a boy who lives by himself for a while in the wilderness and befriends Indians. If I heard this I would think it would be cheesy. It was surprisingly better than it sounded. A very good classic. Loved the whole book.

*****

Hoot by Carl Hiaasen

This is a really good book. One of the best animal books ever. The movie was actually pretty good, also. It was so sad with the little owls and they could die. It really made you think about what you are doing before you do something. I loved the guy who stood up for the owls. He was like a person you'd least expect to do something for that. What was his name? Mullet-finger? I don't know, it was really good.


*****

Holes by Louis Sachar

This books is about a boy who gets sent to camp as punishment for something he didn't do. It was a great book and I found every page of it enjoyable. Let me tell you that the book is way better than the movie. It just is. It has a good pace and great characters. Read it.

*****

The Egypt Game by Zilphia Keatly Snyder

This book was very strange. I mean, it was good but at some parts it went overboard. It was about a couple of kids who get fascinated with Egypt. One of the characters is some rich girl who I found unamusing. Then the next book is being led into. Will there be a third, too???

**

Bud Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis

This book is about a boy who runs away to find his dad. It was good through the whole book and was very realistic. It was one of my favorite book report books. I just loved the whole thing. It had a good pace and a funny character. I love the ending.


*****

The Name of This Book is Secret by Pseudonymous Bosch

This was a good book with the writing style of Lemony Snicket. He talks as if there is a major thing that he can't say but of course, you have to wait for the next book. I found it amusing from the beginning to almost the end. When someone shows up. It kind-of ruined it even though he (or she) said that he didn't want to ruin the ending. Anyway, I found the characteres strange and amusing, actually the plot was fantastic. It just was a fun book to read. Then all of the sudden Hermes/Mercury/Thoth came in. I mean, it was strange. I loved the ideas all though some I could have never thought of in that crisis situation. The book was very predcitable, though. Favorite character is Owen. He rocks.


****

Sunday, May 17, 2009

The Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

This is a really good book. I loved the whole series, even though some parts were scary, I was little when I read it. He has the most unique style of writing. I find it amusing and frightening at the same time. It was sad at some parts but some were good. The last one was the funniest. The thing that freaked me out was the poison. Anyway, this was a great book. Two thumbs up.


*****

Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Chronus Chronicles by Anne Ursu

This book was really good. I thought it kept my attention. It is another book about Greek Myths with I'm guessing the three big gods. The third and final one is coming out this summer so hurry to read it. I can't wait

*****

Sunday, May 10, 2009

The Last Olympian by Rick Riordain

Wow, this was one of the best books I have ever read. It is the conclusion to the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. It is about a boy named Percy who is the son of Poseidon. He is also a boy who when he turns sixteen has to decide the fate of the world.

I thought it was a great book with a good pace. I loved how Hestia was a part of it because there is like no Hestia stories. It was sad in many parts and made you guess who was the spy and who does this. The end is good how the war ends. I will not spoil it. I loved every minute of it. I especially love Mrs. O'Leary. I also love Percy's idea.


My rating:

*****

Thursday, April 30, 2009

The Giver by Lois Lowry

This book is about a boy named Jonas who lives in the Community. Everything is already planned for him. They choose his name and his family. People choose who you marry and your job. Jonas is becoming a Twelve so he will be getting a job in December. He gets the rarest and most honorable job, The Receiver of Memory. That means he recieves every memory from the Giver of pain and pleasure. But then there is a Release of a baby boy that pushes him over the edge. Things have to change.

I liked this book. It was amusing and had a good pace. It went along really good but at the end it just ended. I soon found out that it is a Trilogy. That is good. I still have to read them but I'm sure they will explain stuff.

Tip: At the beginning it is hard to understand because they don't explain a lot till the middle. Just go along and you will catch on.


My Rating:
****

Saturday, April 25, 2009

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Well, this is actually a really good book. It is odd in some places but I liked it. It was very interesting. The book is Historical Fiction. (Of course I'm going to learn something!) The author did a very good job on it.

This is about a girl growing up during one of the World Wars and it is her as she grows up. It is kind-of like her surviving the hardships. She has to live with foster parents because her brother and mom died at the beginning. Her brother had a book about either digging or graves. (I haven't read this book in a while so my facts may be off.) And every once in a while she steals books.

***** (the highest-five stars)

Friday, April 24, 2009

The Hound of Rowan from The Tapestry by Henry Nepp

I thought this book had a very bad beginning. I mean, it wasn't the worst but not the best. I thought it was hard to follow. Usually I am a fast reader but it took me almost a month to read 100 pages. I never finished it. If I ever do I will add on to this post but still...it was much like Harry Potter.

The book is about a boy named Max McDaniels who goes to a school with like magic and stuff where evils await him. Hello? Harry Potter, big time. Well, this is one of the books that I couldn't even finish. That is rare. Well, oh well. You can't love every book you read, but some are loved on such a great scale that it is the best book ever.

A note to people: The book doesn't give a good description on the back in my opinion. The cover is kind-of freaky looking. (Yes, I know don't judge a book by it's cover.)

My rating was simple. I gave it an extra star because it could have a good end. I guess I may have to read it...later.

**
two stars

Monday, April 20, 2009

Hatchet by Gary Paulsen

REVIEW:
One of my least favorite books. I didn't find it amusing. He throws-up every chapter and repeats things.

QUICK SUMMARY:
Brian Robinson- a boy stranded needs to survive in the wilderness with just a hatchet.

RATING:
*

Magician by Michael Scott

It was good. I just wish the siblings had a little more rivalry because it is not realistic. This book has two twins caught in a race for a book which gives the secret of Immortality and could destroy the world.


****-four stars

Inkheart Trilogy by Cornelia Funke

Well, this was about one of the best books I ever read. It had a good pace and kept me turning pages. I recommend this book to anyone.
*****-five stars

Thursday, April 2, 2009

Bull Run by Paul Fleitchman

I didn't think this was very interesting. I had to read it for school. It gave a lot of facts and some parts were good. Overall I would give it a 3.